· Awards
· Behind the Scenes
· Brochures
· Competitions
· Interviews
· New Type
· News
· Parker Type History
· Seen and Noted
· Sketches
· Type Design
· Web Fonts


· David Berlow
· Sam Berlow
· John D. Berry
· Font Bureau
· Stephen Coles
· Carrie Gee
· Cyrus Highsmith
· David Jonathan Ross
· Indra Kupferschmid
· Kent Lew
· Mary Louise Marino
· André Mora
· Mike Parker
· Nick Sherman
· Dyana Weissman


Join the FB News List


COMPETITIONS, NEWS · February 17, 2014

Morisawa Competition 2014

The Morisawa Type Design Competition returns this year and Font Bureau is pleased to be partner. This will be the ninth occasion since Morisawa’s first international contest in 1984, marking its 30th anniversary.

From 1984 to 2002, the event ran every three years — it was held again in 2012 and accepted entries from 29 countries and regions. The design competition always seeks bold approaches to both Kanji and Latin.

Font Bureau’s Cyrus Highsmith will judge in the Latin category, along with Fred Smeijers, Sara Soskolne, and Matthew Carter.

There are three awards to pursue: the Morisawa Award recognizes creativity and excellence in design and is the only required category; the Akashi Award focuses on typeface designs that are appropriate for commercialization by Morisawa Inc.; and the People’s Choice Award will be voted on by the general public in October.

The submission period is open from June 1 to August 31, 2014, and is open to all individuals. The winners — to be announced in November — will receive a trophy and prize money. Visit the competition’s website for more information and submission guidelines.


Share on Facebook Share on Twitter